Every Little Step

by

I guess I was on a bit of a musical theatre roll for a while.

Every Little Step is a documentary about casting the Broadway revival of A Chorus Line. A Chorus Line is a show built out of workshops using the real life stories of dancers and singers who performed on Broadway. If you’ve ever had even the slightest interest in how a professional audition works you should check this out. If you’ve ever dreamed of being on the Broadway stage this might just tear your heart to shreds. You should see it anyway.

I wasn’t familiar with how the show was originally developed. The documentary honors all of that work and brings it to light using priceless interviews with original performers and the actual tapes the writers worked from. It was the first time a show had been created in quite this way but certainly not the last.

Somehow the filmmakers manage to introduce the audience to an enormous numbers of hopefuls over the course of this movie. I’d seen the production but it was a few years ago so I still managed to ride the waves of suspense. There are reasons to love almost every person auditioning. Plenty of reasons why they aren’t right for the show, too. I don’t envy the people who had to choose and that is perhaps the saving grace of the documentary because it prevents you from getting too attached to any one performer and hating the people hiring them.

A bunch of my theatre friends often make fun of a very old commercial for, I think, Phantom of the Opera. We’ll say about something that is, at best, mediocre, “I laughed, I cried, it was better than Cats!” The thing is watching Every Little Step I did laugh, I did cry, and it was definitely better than Cats.

Leave a Reply

