The Damned United

by

I’m a sucker for a sports movie. I still think fondly of Vision Quest, Mystery Alaska makes me cry, and I might be the youngest Slap Shot fan around. The Damned United, starring perennial favorites Michael Sheen, Timothy Spall, Colm Meaney, and Jim Broadbent, puts me a bit out of my depth. Knowing nothing of the events recounted you can instantly sense the level of import this movie would carry for a true soccer fan. For the rest of us, I fear, it’s a bit of fluffy fun but not a lot more.

Leave a Reply

