Temple is Grand

by

ImageI have a friend who is one of the premiere teachers in the US of children with sensory integration disorders, like autism. Years ago I remember her talking about an autistic woman who worked with cattle processing plants because her autism gave her particular insight into the way cattle brains work. It sounded interesting but I was afraid the book would be too technical for me and I never got around to it.

So then this weekend I was sitting around with a friend and we came across Temple Grandin in the On Demand menu and decided to give it a shot. I knew this was the same woman, I wasn’t that ignorant, but I was pretty ignorant. Ms. Grandin grew up in New England and did all of her early schooling in my home state. Her mother was told to institutionalize her. She was mainstreamed before mainstreaming was a dirty term but only because it just wasn’t done.

Let it suffice to say I was fascinated by the whole story from stem to stern. I was moved and excited and I laughed and learned. Claire Danes did a lovely job as the title character. The accolades, though, belong to Julia Ormond and Catherine O’Hara as Grandin’s mother and aunt respectively. They thrilled me and broke my heart at every turn. David Strathairn as a high school science teacher instrumental in Grandin’s development only graced the screen for a few moments but all of them were beautiful.

This is a very basic biopic. It’s not a format or even information that’s especially new or shocking. It doesn’t need to be, though, because the bio they’re pic’ing, if you will, is enthralling. Well worth the investment.

3 Responses to “Temple is Grand”

  1. magpiemusing Says:

    i watched that last year when it came out – it’s really fascinating. she is an interesting person, on lots of levels.

  2. Kizz Says:

    I’m looking forward to reading her book(s) now, too.

  3. Sara Says:

    You will *love* her books – I read them at a point where everything I read seemed to be about becoming a better dog trainer. Her writing gives insight into what she has insights about, and also into how her insight works differently from a ‘typical’ narrator. Also, cows. (Enjoyed the movie, too, & totally agree with your distribution of accolades.)

Leave a Reply

