(Not) Wanted

by

Hold on to your hats, it’s been a big movie watching weekend. Don’t say you weren’t warned!

Image

First up was Wanted, an action flick from a couple of years ago. James McAvoy and Angelina Jolie as part of an ancient guild of weavers (oh yeah, you heard me) headed up by Morgan Freeman. The weavers seem to um…help out fate or something. It’s ever so Grecian by way of The Matrix. If you’ve seen the previews (scanty clothing, bent bullet trajectories, zippy sports cars, mercenary rats) you probably already suspect that it’s a terrible movie. You should add some terrible to that estimate…no, multiply it by terrible, a lot of terrible. I wanted (heh) it to be ridiculous but a ton of silly fun fighting and a crazy back story and a nice way to turn my brain off. I just kept saying to my viewing companion, “I don’t have enough disbelief to suspend to make this work!” Don’t spend your precious time, re-watch Gladiator instead, we did that later.

2 Responses to “(Not) Wanted”

  1. Misti Ridiculous Says:

    I love that you watch things I would never even consider. You’re outrageously brave in your movie watching.

  2. Kizz Says:

    Well, there’s something to be said for the thin line between brave and crazy here. We also started watching 187 because it had Samuel L. Jackson in it and I had to turn it off within like 10 minutes because it was creeping me out.

    I don’t know if I’m brave but the quest to turn off the brain is a delicate thing. There’s an unopened double DVD set of Road House/Youngblood on my shelf as sort of a in-case-of-emergency-break-glass sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

