(Makes Me) Crazy Heart

by

ImageI have trouble moving things up in my Netflix queue so sometimes I wind up seeing stuff years after it’s relevant. Many times, even. Crazy Heart has been inching up the list for ages. To be honest I’ve been a little afraid of it. It got such great hype and the subject matter seemed like if it was done well it’d be hard to watch.

Apparently I can name that reaction in one note! I sat there knowing that at some point Jeff Bridges’ character was going to fuck up. But at what point? The clear presence of that tension was a slam dunk writing-wise but as an audience member I had a very hard time not turning it off and hiding my head under a pillow.

Then it was over and I cried. Some of that can certainly be attributed to the week I’ve had but I don’t want to take all the credit away from a truly well-crafted movie.

One Response to “(Makes Me) Crazy Heart”

  1. fondofsnape Says:

    When I met Dave again (after 35-odd years), we had a cup of coffee at Starbucks, then went to see this movie. It has a special place in my heart!

    Last anniversary, I got him the soundtrack to the movie and a gift card to Starbucks.

    This year? I’m going away for a girls weekend. LMAO!

Leave a Reply

