Nine x2

by

Image

I saw the revival of Nine on Broadway a few years ago. It starred Antonio Banderas, who wasn’t my favorite, but also starred women like Jane Krakowski and Mary Beth Peil, who I love, so it was a great way to be introduced to the piece. Also a great way to make me really sad that I missed the original because it starred Raul Julia.

So when the movie came out I knew I’d probably want to see it but I wasn’t all that excited about it. Any time you gather a group of people who, by and large, don’t sing and dance to do something that hangs entirely on singing and dancing I am skeptical. You know, it’s not a great musical. It’s disjointed and odd and non-linear and way too introspective to be clearly dramatic. It’s got a couple of hot numbers, though, and the scenery in the movie is spectacular. They did a fair job of casting so that everyone plays to their strengths and doesn’t take away from the material. I certainly had fun with it and am now considering singing a couple of the tunes.

Leave a Reply

