Name Change

by

stephaniedaley2
Years ago my friend, Miflohny, was looking for company to see a selection of movies at the first annual Sundance at BAM week. I signed on for one movie and we ended up seeing something called Stephanie Daley. It starred Tilda Swinton, who I had loved for a while, and Amber Tamblyn who I had only recently begun enjoying on Joan of Arcadia.

I loved the movie. It’s an intricate little study of honesty and morality in a small mountain town and the performances are, from top to toe, exquisite. We heard from the writer/director after the screening. She was a young mother living in Brooklyn who had developed both the script and the final movie through Sundance programs. I envied and worshipped her. Just a little. I waited with bated breath for the movie to come out on more screens.

That never happened but today I was flipping channels and I saw Amber Tamblyn in something that looked wildly familiar. I couldn’t place it until SWINTON appeared and it was Stephanie Daley! Only now they’re calling it What She Knew and it’s playing on Lifetime. Please set your TiVOs! Don’t let the channel fool you, this movie is worth your time.

2 Responses to “Name Change”

  1. JCK Says:

    I will definitely be on the look-out for it! I hate to say that I used to watch General Hospital for years. Well, it was years ago…Anyway, I always loved Amber Tamblyn. She was a stand out and she is doing so well now. It is great to see her out there. I also like Tilda Swinton. Such a unique actress.

  2. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Going to set the TiVo!

    …. dammit! It’s not showing up as available. I’ve set up a wishlist; if it comes back, it’ll auto-record.

Leave a Reply

