Iron Man

by

Would you believe I only just now finally got around to seeing this movie?!

My father had bought it a little while ago, and he let me borrow it when I was over to visit yesterday, so – after Little Man went to bed – Cookiemaker and I settled in to give it a whirl.

I had pretty high expectations. More than a few friends had highly recommended it, Mrs. Chili and Bowyer among them. The only negative opinion I had heard about the film had come from TwoBlueDay. TwoBlue – ever the ray of sunshine 🙂 – had referred to it as “dogshit soup.”

I was particularly curious to see Robert Downey, Jr.’s portrayal of Tony Stark / Iron Man. Mrs. C. and Bowyer had insisted on multiple occassions that as soon as they saw Downey in this film they said to themselves, “Falcon! This guy is Falcon! The tone of voice, the attitude, the mannerisms.. holy crap, he’s Falcon!

Up to a point, if I may be so arrogant, I’d have to say they’re right. Probably right up to this point:

Or maybe this point:

At this point, however, he’s no longer me:

I never would’ve recovered from that. As soon as the power had cut out, I would have crapped myself and died.

Now that my exercise in narcissism is over, I’d have to say I liked the movie. To me it was a perfectly acceptable piece of action fluff to pass a couple of hours with. I look forward to the sequel, and am particularly curious to see how they develop the Nick Fury (as played by Samuel L. Jackson): Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. angle.

Didn’t know about that, did you? You have to watch all the way through the credits to see the scene.

Oh, yeah, one other thing – that’s far and away the best I’ve ever seen Gwynneth Paltrow look! 

5 Responses to “Iron Man”

  1. Louise Says:

    Yes. Yes. Yes. I loved this movie and watched it to the end. Perfect way to spend 2 hours if you ask me.

  2. Mrs. Chili Says:

    I love this movie. I could watch it again and again without complaint.

    The part about Tony Stark that reminds me so much of you, Falcon, is the deadpan snarkiness of him. “I prefer the weapon you only have to fire ONCE.” As soon as I saw that on the preview, you were the first person I thought of.

  3. mabnyc Says:

    I dig me the Iron Man. Great cast, great effects, great fun. I was a big Marvel Comics junkie when I was a kid, so it’s nice to see some loving attention paid to SOME of their characters. (Fantastic Four? Not so much.)

    Although Gwyneth never really did it for me.

  4. saintseester Says:

    I loved the movie, too. It was the first PG-13 I took my son to; he loved it as well.

    Gwyneth looked good in that goofy sci-fi thing she was in a while ago: Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow. It was panned for the most part, but I loved it. Pure escapism.

  5. twoblueday Says:

    My review may have been negative, but I thought it was punchy!

Leave a Reply

