Twilight

by

Now that the winter movie season is underway, I will actually get out to see movies and review them here!

Last month, my book club read the novel Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.  All of us are well into our late 30’s and early 40’s, yet, we were just as giddy over those silly novels as schoolgirls.  What is it about those books, we wondered, that grabbed our attention?  We ate them up like jelly beans.   My family went without dinner, the dust remained on the cabinets, the laundry sat in the hampers, all because I had my nose buried in those books.

Naturally, the movie Twilight, would be the perfect girls’ night out.  As we sat and watched the characters from the book come alive, my friend would look down the row and laugh at the goofy smiles we all wore.

As far as movies go, this one is a weak offering.  There is not much depth of story or character development.  We all agreed that someone who had not read the books would most likely think it boring.   But, those who are fans will be happy with how well the movie sticks to the book faithfully.

Some products are meant purely for consumption, and Twilight is  just that sort of movie.  If you loved the books, you should enjoy the movie.  If your young daughters loved the books, the movie is just as chaste.

8 Responses to “Twilight”

  1. Kizz Says:

    I keep wondering if it’s going to live up to my expectations. I devoured the books and it was only well in retrospect that I realized how poorly written and ridiculous they are. I’m afraid the movie will tear down my last defenses in front of this fun story. I HATE the quote they’re using in the TV ads.

  2. wordlily Says:

    I watched the movie without reading the books first. I just can’t make the leap in logic required for this film. And now I’m wondering if I should bother with the books.

  3. wordlily Says:

    :/

  4. saintseester Says:

    Kizz – we all went in with low expectations. I think because the group of gals I was with all loved the books, we had a great time.

    wordlily – like I said, I would think the movie wasn’t very good without the books to fill in the gaps.

  5. thebutton Says:

    I loved the book, I can’t wait to see the movie. I did find it silly that I adored the book when it is childish…I couldn’t help it. Bella reminded me of me in my school days. You know, clutzy, always dating the wrong sort, nose stuck in books, not coordinated enough for gym. 😛

  6. Becca Says:

    I laughed as I read the books because I literally had nothing in common with Bella that would make me want to like her; yet, I loved her story and I wished her well through the entire thing. I am looking forward to the movie, but admit that my expectations are set purposefully low so that I will enjoy it.

  7. morgan Says:

    I am hoping to read the book over the holiday weekend and see the movie shortly thereafter. It’s rare that I will see a movie before reading the book, if I have any intention at all of reading it. I doubt I’ll have huge expectations for the movie…I’m just looking forward to the escape from reality. Glad to hear that it makes for a fun outing.

  8. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Punkin’ and I read the first two books, and I’ll be bringing her to the movie this weekend, I think.

Leave a Reply

