Paul Newman (1925-2008)

by

We’ve lost one of the giants. A fine actor and a thoroughly decent human being.

I paid my respects today by enjoying a nice salad with Newman’s Own Balsamic Vinaigrette (in my opinion, the best of its kind on the market) and then streaming Robert Altman’s “Buffalo Bill and the Indians” on Netflix, in which our hero plays our hero and, as is typical for an Altman film, just about everybody else in the world has a part.

5 Responses to “Paul Newman (1925-2008)”

  1. mrschili Says:

    I honored Mr. Newman by having some of his cookies, and by vibing comfort and solace to his wife. I held Newman and Woodward as an example of what Hollywood marriages COULD be, and I am unable to even begin to imagine her grief.

  2. Tom Says:

    I didn’t even know he was a GLBT ally until I was reading up on him today. I did a little article on him which you probably saw. He was a rare breed indeed.

  3. Kizz Says:

    I honored him by wishing I had a copy of Slapshot. A search of You Tube clips may be in order today. Haven’t seen The Sting in ages either.

  4. saintseester Says:

    The Sting is one of my all time favorite movies. I can’t remember a performance of his that I didn’t appreciate.

  5. Katrina Says:

    I had no clue he died until I went to check my email this morning. I don’t watch the news over the weekend (or at least very rarely do). And I am completely amazed that neither radio station that I listened to this morning didn’t mention it at all.

    Sad sad day.

Leave a Reply

