No Surprises

by

You’re not going to be surprised that I recommend you immediately see Transamerica, are you? Honesty I’ll be the one who’s surprised if you haven’t seen it yet. Character driven indie flick starring Felicity Huffman full of humor and tender emotional connection – oh yeah, this is a first for me. Where is that sarcasm font when you need it?

It is, like Notes on a Scandal, one of those exquisitely crafted movies where a combination of quality writing and impeccable acting come together with a staff who knows their story so well that everything from the lighting to the accessories to the music supports the exact message they are trying to convey.

I don’t think I’m spoiling anything to tell you the Huffman plays a pre-op male to female transexual. She describes the movie as the story of a woman who thinks that the most important thing she can do is to have sexual reassignment surgery and finds out that the most important thing she can do is be a parent. I take issue with the parent part, not because parenting isn’t important but because there are details in the ending that suggest that’s not…uh…it. Without telling you the details I can’t explain and I don’t want to sling the details all over the internet here. However, I find that description and the movie itself inspiring from a couple of different perspectives. The quality of the project makes me want to write better, to act better to create more things that will inspire more people right through to the center of their hearts. The actual story fills me with desire to find out what my important thing is.

Either that of to go on a road trip. I do love a good road trip.

I often find Felicity Huffman inspiring and in this instance I strongly suggest I’m not alone.

3 Responses to “No Surprises”

  1. eatsbugs Says:

    I really liked this movie. There is something about the trans experience that is compelling and provocative. I recommend it to anyone.

  2. mrschili Says:

    Thank you for reminding me that I wanted to see this movie. I need to start a list of films that I intended, but never got a chance, to see. This is certainly one of them.

  3. Kizz Says:

    Chili, my inability to remember all the movies I want to see is pretty much why I have a Netflix account. They keep it all up there and if I forget why the hell it’s on the list I can just click the link, heck they don’t even make me click anymore I just hover and it and get a memory jog.

Leave a Reply

