Cary Grant

by

Let’s talk about this guy, shall we?

I’ve only seen a few of his films, and I know he was prolific. However, there is little that embodies class and sophistication that Cary Grant doesn’t possess. Well, at least in his acting personae, that is. Some would probably argue that actors like George Clooney would be a modern-day equivalent. Michael Caine comments on Grant’s ease of character in a tribute film run by Turner Classic Movies.

The only actor I can think of that maintains the same class, charm, humor and connectivity in a role would be Nathan Fillion, star of Firefly, The recent film The Waitress, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog. He possesses a panache and ability to be comedic and tragic all at once. Plus, that jaw bone…

4 Responses to “Cary Grant”

  1. morgan Says:

    I’ve seen Bringing Up Baby, Gunga Din, The Philadelphia Story, Arsenic and Old Lace, The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer, An Affair to Remember, North By Northwest, and Charade…and still wish to see many more of his movies.

    George Clooney has always reminded me of Cary Grant. That same handsome charm with self-effacing humor that makes you want to keep watching, regardless of the role itself.

    For the record, I like the idea of occasionally profiling actors/actresses/directors on this blog. A little break from the movie reviews themselves.

  2. Kizz Says:

    Fillion? Yeah, I guess he might work. He tends to play more funny/goofy than I think of Grant but I don’t watch a lot of Grant-era movies. I think the only one of his that I’ve seen is North by Northwest.

  3. mabnyc Says:

    Ditto on the Clooney comparison. He’s the closest thing we have to a modern Grant. They’re both classically handsome leading men who were not afraid to, and even relished the chance to, get goofy. Grant is terribly goofy and fun in “Bringing Up Baby”. Clooney won me over with “O Brother Where Art Thou”.

  4. saintseester Says:

    What great timing – I was just thinking to myself that I needed to find a Cary Grant movie still for the header picture in one of my rotations.

Leave a Reply

