Winter Movie Season

by

It is with great joy that I anticipate the movie season that starts right before Thanksgiving and continues through the end of the year.  Blockbusters, chick flicks and high visibility dramas, galore!   Because of where I live, most oscar nominated films do not head my way until December.  So, usually, I have a glut of interesting and intelligent movies to look forward to.

For this season, I cannot wait to see Twilight.  I just finished reading the first two books in this series; it promises to be (hopefully) a good, fun movie.  Definitely romantic, but a chick flick with breath-defying chase and action suitable for viewing on the big screen.

What are you most looking forward to seeing during the remaining months of 2008?

10 Responses to “Winter Movie Season”

  1. morgan Says:

    I’m guessing that I won’t actually see more than 4 or 5 movies in the theater the rest of this year (I usually wait for DVDs), but here’s a list a few that have caught my eye:

    Hounddog (Sept.) – I really don’t expect to see this in the theater, but I am looking forward to the reaction of the public. I know there’s been some hoopla over the implied rape scene featuring Dakota Fanning. From what I understand of it, nothing graphic is actually shown, but I’m definitely curious as to it’s place in the movie.

    Burn After Reading (Sept.) – Nice cast. I can’t help but smile when Brad Pitt and George Clooney work together. Hope the execution is as good as the potential.

    Righteous Kill (Sept.) – DeNiro & Pacino together. Looks like my type of movie. Unfortunately, I am too often disappointed when I look forward to a great pairing like this, so I’ll try to keep my expectations low.

    Nights in Rodanthe (Sept.) – Same author as The Notebook and Message in a Bottle, both of which I liked. I’m a girly girl every now and then, so this looks enjoyable and harmless. Plus, it has Chris Meloni in it. 🙂

    The Express (Oct.) – True story. Football. That works for me.

    Changeling (Oct.) – Clint Eastwood directs. Angelina Jolie stars. That works for me.

    Doubt (Dec.) – An adaptation of a Broadway play. I’ve heard some early critical acclaim, plus I am a Broadway fan, so I’m always interested in seeing adaptations.

  2. Becca Says:

    I am also excited for Twilight. I just finished Breaking Dawn a few weeks ago.

    I’ve just started to see previews for “Burn After Reading,” although, and I think it looks fantastic!

    The Cohn brothers do a lot of casting up by where I live, so I always wonder which of my friends I’ll see in the background. 🙂

  3. saintseester Says:

    Oooh – I forgot about The Express. I love football movies, although that one I will probably rent. Since I get to go to so few movies in the theater, I try to save those trips for shows that must be seen on the big screen.

  4. eatsbugs Says:

    Burn After Reading looks fantastic! I like Brad Pitt, but I love Brad Pitt when he gets to be weird. Also, Francis McDermond (I think) makes me smile. She right up there with Meryl Streep, Angelica Houston, Emma Thompson, and Maggie Smith for me. Plus, more often than not, the “all-star cast” routine works out for greatness. Just look at Ocean’s Eleven. Do not look at Full Frontal.

  5. mrschili Says:

    I need to spend a little quality time with the Apple trailers site before I’ll know what I’m looking forward to. Right now, all I can think about is Traitor. Oh, and there’s a Nicolas Cage film coming out – hang on, lemme look up the title….Bangkok Dangerous. I think it’s released already but, to the best of my knowledge, it’s not made its way to my market yet.

  6. NHFalcon Says:

    I would’ve said the latest “Harry Potter” movie, but seeing as they’ve pushed that back to next summer… 😦

    Oh, is it too early to talk about “The Hobbit (December 2010)?” 🙂

  7. saintseester Says:

    Nah, it isn’t too early to talk about The Hobbit!

    I am going to add City of Ember to my list. My son had it on his reading list last year; they read it together as a class. He was so excited (I love it when kids get enthusiastic to the point of giddiness over a book), breathless as he told me about it. At least it is a movie I can enjoy with the kids this fall. My only misgiving is the casting of Bill Murray. He doesn’t seem to fit his part.

  8. Kizz Says:

    I’m in the middle of Breaking Dawn and I’m totally skeptical about the Twilight movie but also really want to see it. Same goes for Burn After Reading. The Cohen Bros…it’s a toss up for me usually.

    Take my opinions with a grain of salt, though, I’m still looking forward to seeing Dark Knight. Hoping to catch it on IMAX on Fri afternoon.

  9. thebutton Says:

    I am dying to get my hands on the Twilight series. As for input to what I am looking forward to seeing…I have no idea. Being in Germany we get things a tad bit later and we also do not get commercials/previews on our lovely military programming.

  10. Grammar Snob Says:

    Twilight for sure, though I am sure hoping it lives up to my expectation.

    Traitor.

    I’m saddened that they’ve delayed release of Harry Potter – BOO!

Leave a Reply

