event horizon

by

If you want to see a scary, science-crunchy movie, pick Event Horizon. If you want to see a more than decent sci-fi horror, pick Event Horizon. If you want to see Sam Neill go stark-raving mad, pick Event Horizon, then pick up some popcorn.

Sam Neill plays an avant garde scientist, some hundred years from now, who has created the “gravity drive,” a device that folds space to allow a space vessel to cross light-years in a mere moment. He is joined by the ever-enjoyable Laurence Fishburne, who in all his non-Morpheus glory, plays a rather bad ass captain with a conscience that stabs him in the back a couple times before the movie is over.

This movie was marketed to me by a friend who said they would never watch it again. It was too creepy, they said. Naturally, I’ve been looking for it ever since. If there is nothing else I like in a movie, its the ability to creep me out to the bottom of my soul. There have been a couple movie that have done that, and I’ll have to rewatch them so I can talk to you about them here.

That said, it wasn’t the creepiest movie I’ve ever scene, but that might have more to do with me and my roommate sitting back and laughing at small inconsequential things that pop up all over in this genre. And it’s fun to pretend to be on Mystery Science Theater 3000. The movie had lots of shock points, and some deeply frightening ones too. An element of Harlan Ellison is present: deep rooted human problems that crop up and kill you. Also, the inability for a human to create anything new without it causing lots of trouble.

Be advised, this movie is not for family viewing, and if you are even the least bit squeamish, I’d stay away from this one. Gore is present, as well as some sexual violence, so don’t plan to rent this when you’re mother comes to visit, unless she likes that sort of thing.

I’ll give this one a solid thumbs up, just because it is executed well enough, and I like how crunchy they got with the science early in the movie. The characters addressed the possibility of the “gravity drive” from real scientific points of view. That sort of thing always makes a movie more captivating. I’m not a big fan of this kind of movie:

“Whatcha got there?”
“It’s a lazor gun. It will kill the monster.”
“Really? But I don’t see the power source. It’s kinda small for this, don’t you think?”
“Nah, its okay. It runs on unicorns and daydreams.”

Downsides are in Sam Neill. I appreciate him as an actor, but he will always be Merlin to me. He does the crazy thing okay, but he’s no Mel Gibson in Hamlet. I wouldn’t even call him Dr. Brown in Back to the Future. He’s just Merlin with a knife.

So, go! Go get creeped out! And take a blanket. You may want to cover your face.

7 Responses to “event horizon”

  1. Rick Boyer Says:

    I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  2. Becca Says:

    To me, Sam Neil is -always- going to be running from dinosaurs.

  3. saintseester Says:

    I loved Sam Neil in the miniseries Amerika. I had a big crush on him back then.

    Unfortunately, if a movie has too much gore, I can’t watch it. The older I get, the less I can tolerate.

  4. mabnyc Says:

    Nicol Williamson will always be Merlin to me.

  5. mrschili Says:

    Sam Neill is ALWAYS going to be Vasily Borodin from The Hunt for Red October. I’m not much of a horror movie fan – I don’t know if I’ll take you up on this one…

  6. eatsbugs Says:

    Chili, you don’t mean to say that you like Hunt for the Red October, do you? *shock and awe*

    And don’t worry about it…my next review will be historical drama.

  7. thebutton Says:

    I will have to dig around for it. Our movie rental place on base is rather small. Anything good there sticks around for about two weeks before they take it away.

Leave a Reply

